Conner Lowry football award winner 2019

St. John Fisher quarterback Owen Winters (third from left) was named the Southside Catholic Conference Conner Lowry Award winner for the 2019 season. Coaches in the conference nominated players who embody Lowry’s character, including a passion and commitment to the game. A 2002 St. John Fisher and 2006 Br. Rice grad, Lowry was killed during combat operations in Afghanistan in 2012. Other nominees include (from left) St. John Fisher’s Tommy Sheerin, St. Catherine’s Michael DeMatteo, St. Christina’s Nolan Ryan, St. Michael’s Matthew Markett and St. Cajetan’s Ryan Hartz. (Review photo)